It’s the End of the World As We Know It (and I feel fine)

It was about five days ago. I was poking around on Twitter, looking for info on the floods in Atlanta, when I clicked someone’s tinyurl link, assuming the link would take me to some news site or something. Upon clicking the link, my Avast on-demand scanner popped up it’s DANGER! yellow bar and I aborted the connection with the link.

Too late.

The next time I restarted my computer, Avast wouldn’t launch. SpyBot wouldn’t launch. After a couple more restarts, Windows wouldn’t launch. Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce you to the b.exe virus.

It shuts down your antivirus software, it blocks your access to any web site that might help you, it disallows installation of new antivirus software, and then slowly corrupts every executable file on your computer.

Yadda yadda yadda, Evil Jason eventually stepped in, backed up my files, reformatted my hard drive, and saved my pasty white ass.

It’s for the best, really. Loki is almost five years old and half the crap in my Program Files was stuff I didn’t need anymore. Now, stuff that had been broken for years is working again and I’ve learned an important lesson about being more anal about backing up my files instead of just waiting until I have enough stuff to burn a disk.

Loki feels like a kid again. A hulking, 17-inch, bestickered kid.

Mac friends, let me stop you before you start: no, this has not convinced me to get a Mac. Nothing, short of lower costing computers, a ton of free software, and a promise to never again make a “mac vs. pc” commercial will convince me to switch to a Mac. I don’t deal with Mac geniuses, I don’t pay extra for AppleCare, I don’t care about Snow Leopard, and I don’t believe in the theory that viruses don’t exist for Macs. There just aren’t as many. Yet. Wait for it.

Leave a Reply

