(e)tv: Crisis of Faith: No Myth

I had all these wonderful intentions of hooking up my computer so as to allow me to run a direct line (really TWO lines, left and right) from the piano while simultaneously recording vocals and then syncing up the audio to the video that would also be running while I recorded.

Software-wise, even without Final Cut, I knew how do to this. I just sort of forgot to consult my hardware. The M-Audio Mobile Pre (known in my house as The Magic Box) only has TWO channels. With the configuration described above, I would need at least three. “OK, fine,” I said. “I’ll forego the intended live performance style. I’ll do that tedious multi-track bullshit, complete with pop stoppers. Then I’ll lip sync the damn thing for video.”

Problem? I have no patience for tedious multitrack recording. I just don’t get off on that shit. I don’t get good work out of it, anyway. I get sterilized “I’m playing to a click track” stuff. I get vocals that are even worse than they are in real life (which I didn’t think possible). I get something that is not fun, takes forever, and loses the point of trying to do this as though you were standing in my bedroom with me.

It ends up looking like fake studio magic.
That’s fine for Britney. It’s kind of her thing.
It’s just not how I roll.
I have no patience.
I was a shitty sound engineer.

So, sacrificing sound quality, I did the thing that was more fun. Maybe I can borrow a better mic from somebody and see if that helps. My SM-57 just isn’t built for capturing a room, and I bought it before I had The Magic Box (which has phantom power), and blah blah blah, gear talk, blah blah. Let’s just all whip out our dicks and talk about tube amps.

I don’t know if there will be any more music coming out of this. It may be a waste of time (which is another reason why I did the faster process instead of the better-sounding one). At any rate, I already had this done and it didn’t take a lot of trouble to do it, so I figured I’d run it up the flag pole anyway.

Sorry if this is a total wank. But, hey…you get to laugh at me in my coke bottle glasses. That’s something, right? (For the young’uns in the audience: I so totally did not write that song. It’s a cover of Michael Penn’s “No Myth.” If you like the song, give him your iTunes monies.)

(Click here if you can’t see the embed.)

Leave a Reply

