Weekend Wrap-Up: Yin and Yang

We are quite a pair, Murphy and I. Yeah, that’s his name…but you may know him as Mr. Puss. Hell, HE knows him as Mr. Puss.

On Wednesday, he went to the vet to get his teethies cleaned. He needed to have one pulled because of some common cat problem that has some crazy-sounding name but means “tooth cracked and is starting to fall apart.” After all the drugs, blood work, tooth stuff, and other fun, he ended up costing me about 600 bucks. This would explain why I didn’t take him to the vet while I went back to school. Anyway, the vet says he’s in good shape for a cat that almost a decade old. He still looks a little rough because they had to shave a patch on his leg for his IV, and he so totally does not care for the liquid antibiotics I have to give him twice a day. Remind me to show you my new interpretive dance titled “Mr. Puss hates liquid antibiotics and would like to express this.” I tried bribing him with Whisker Lickins, but that pretty much only keeps him from hiding from me after I drug him.

I can’t prove it, but I think he decided to give me (somewhat literally) a taste of my own medicine by giving me a head cold. “Oh, bitch? You grab my head and drug me? How’s THIS?” Now do it in a German accent. I don’t know why, but Mr. Puss always has a German accent in my head.

Anywho, I spent the whole weekend lying in bed reading when I wasn’t peeing or going to Kroger to scare the crap out of people and buy more juice for more peeing. Seriously, there should be some law against me leaving the house without concealer under my eyes. Dark circles, colorless lips, and hair that says “I don’t give a fuck.” What could be sexier? Coupling those things with a NyQuil zombie stare and mouth-breathing.

Mad props to Herr Puss, though. He stayed right next to me in bed the whole time. Him, with his shiny new molar filling…me, with an ice mask tied around my forehead to calm the sinuses. Quite a pair.

Leave a Reply

